Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Sluiskade, Groningen

It wasn't until the comments came in when I realized that Ellis looks so much like a boy in yesterday's blip. Can't really blame anyone for thinking that, but she most definitely is a girl! Today she was walking around in a skirt; perhaps I should blip her in these clothes too...

It turns out Nienke and Inge had lots of fun at my in-laws, where they had been staying since Thursday afternoon until we picked them up again yesterday afternoon. Lots of stories to be told and they didn't get to bed until it was a bit too late. That didn't stop them from getting up before seven 'o clock this morning; way too early for my taste.

Later in the morning I took Nienke and Inge for a photography trip. Well, they didn't want to come until I turned it into an ice cream trip too but that's OK. We went to Groningen where my main goal for today's blip was a statue called 'Ultra'. I did take some pictures of it but the sun was in the wrong place really for the angle I wanted. I might return some day but until then you can take a look at this runner-up. The problem with that shot, in my opinion, is that the building in the background has the same colour as the statue, making the statue not stand out as much as I wanted to. The building on the other side of the statue is a better colour I think but then I would have my camera pointed directly at the sun. Not a good idea...

On our way to that multinational company with that big 'M' in its logo (doesn't that stand for Montignac?), we walked past the Sluiskade. A perfect spot for a series of shots that I could turn into a nice panorama. You're looking at the result. The 'Ultra' statue is visible in this shot too, on the right, above the blue boat.

I hope you all had a great weekend; enjoy your Sunday evening!

Edit: several hours after posting this blip, I discovered the very first picture I took today. I didn't think it would be any good but I was wrong. It's a view of the Groningen Central Station. I've uploaded that shot to Picasaweb here. I even did a tilt-shift version of the shot which you can also find on Picasaweb here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.