The Wolf Journal

By wolfjournal

Ashes to ashes

When I was making my breakfast, ready to depart for the airport, my phone made the well-known sms / text message bleep. The message from a friend said something in the line of "Ow, will you be able to travel now?". In came to understand these words as soon as I switched on the news, where the closure of the airports due to the ash cloud (see also the blipblog) was the main item.

So, after waiting for several hours at home because all flights were cancelled or delayed, the airports opened again at arount 2 PM, and my flight (original departure time also 2 PM) was delayed until 4.30. Arriving at the airport we noticed that more people needed to ckeck-in, this line being the result. Standing in line took us some 1,5 hours, but luckily I was allowed to go past the last part because otherwise I would miss my flight. Finally we departed at 17.45, arriving in Accra at 10 PM local time.

I'm now sitting at the garden table in the guesthouse the following day. Today I will use to get settled, figure out life in Ghana and so forth.

For the record, I am still not sure whether I will practically be ably to keep up blip on a daily basis, for several reasons, Slow internet is an important one, but another one I decided on today, is that I am not going to carry my camera everywhere, especially not in Accra.

For all family and friends who are following this: I assumed you would not mind to read English, but if you do, please drop me a line. Voor familie en vrienden: als je het erg lastig vindt om alles in het Engels te lezen, laat het even weten!

See you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.