The Wolf Journal

By wolfjournal

Accra's backside

My first full day in Accra, and some day it was. I realized that the guesthouse was not really conveniently located to get anywhere really. Not to the city's center and not to the University, where I plan to be quite a lot this upcoming week. That's why I will move to a guesthouse on the University's premises tomorrow.

Today I was mostly occupied by roaming the nearby vendor stalls for basic needs, such as local currency, sim cards etcetera. And than you encounter the very friendly character of Ghanaian people: everybody wants a talk, invites you to have a sit or have a bite. And no-one does that from a selfish (or commercial, whatever you may want to call it) point of view, which can be found in some other countries.

In the afternoon I went to the University. To try my luck really. I did not have an appointment with my contact (a professor of the University) but I hadn't heard of him for a week. So I just headed down there to try to find him, and luckily he was present! So I made an appointment for tomorrow morning. Apparently there was some misunderstanding.

My first encounter with Ghanaian 'wildlife': a lizard from the Agama family.


Have reduced image size to 800 by 600 to fit the internet speed here...


Voor de meelezers: als je ook comments wilt kunnen geven dan kan dat; stuur me even een mailtje, dan voeg ik je daarvoor toe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.