just be

By justbe

Stripe a Pose!

This little male Eastern Chipmunk is getting braver everyday. I have had one at our summer place in Maine that ate from my hand. Perhaps Chipster will be that trusting by the end of the season...if he survives my brother's gray cat.

He's a willing subject unlike our elusive Ruby Throated Hummingbird gentleman who has eluded me for two weeks. I did take one shot,, but it doesn't show off his shimmering feathers and ruby neckband. He always arrivies at the feeder by the kitchen window when my hands are full of things other than my cameras. I saw the first female last evening, so my chances just multiplied. When a hummingbird shows up in a blip you will know it's a combination of luck, patience and timing.

I was just looking out the window and saw a hilarious chipmunk territorial squabble. They rolled around so much that they both ended up in the hollowed out stone birdbath with a big splash. That shocked and soaked them both and they scrambled away to neutral corners. This will spice up my chipmunk watching activities if the seed wars continue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.