Steps

I really should have taken more care with this shot. I should have dusted the table, and even these ______s (guesses, unless it's too obvious?) before my attempt. But I was reeling from the inertia of a heavy day, and yet to regain my balance. There is a little pocket of time before the dinner is ready which I shall use for blip. I often wonder how inconsistent I have been with blip. Perhaps the only good side-effect of it has been that tiny a bit of variety it perhaps brings to the journal.

There is so much work to be wrapped up these days, I am looking at continuing 12 hour workdays now for a while. Even my trip is coming up and I have my fingers crossed about the arrangements.

Have had a cold the last couple of days, which is no doubt a result of quick changes between the super chilled air conditioners and the burning heat outside. Had to rest my head upon the desk for a while in the middle of the day when it became a bit too difficult. And the bulk of work to be delivered is just enormous. While riding back, the heat, despite the darkness felt like a heavy punch that left me deflated. But the burning wind, or loo as it's called in these parts was behind me. And cycling on higher gears felt like kind of pleasure one feels while ladling thick milk. But riding a black bicycle without a light through narrow lanes, without street-lamps isn't prudent. The murky air makes visibility poor, and when one car tries to overtake another, I am pushed off the road into a bumpy semblance of a sidewalk. There are potholes which aren't visible when cars coming from the opposite side put on their headlamps in full glare. There is a stretch of sand and gravel too. But the heavy, rhythmic, uncompromising pedalling felt absolutely beautiful. Not for a moment did I slow down despite the traffic and darkness. Not for a moment was I scared even when I was within inches of cars trying to overtake others. I am sure this is foolishness and nothing even remotely close to bravado.

Music saves me. The evening becomes a different thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.