A night's delay

(This is an unprocessed photo,, since I can't make out what I am doing on this tiny laptop!)

That is where I spent the night. And it is a long story.

After having been issued the boarding pass, I was informed by India's "five star" domestic airlines, Kingfisher, that there was a further delay of the flight, by five and a half hours to 2 AM in the night! That was shocking. There was a large drunken man, shouting at the top of his voice at all the airport officials, saying he would miss his connecting flight to the US. It was quite ugly. His method wasn't good in the least, but his concern was genuine. I wonder what the flight did for him then.

But anyway, my story was quieter. I walked up to the staff asking for my options. And I took the one suited me the best, where I would spend the night in the airport hotel(some premier lounge, they call it) and take the first flight in the morning. The room, if one may so call it was as small as the jail cells where a especially severe convict is sentenced to solitary confinement. A strong ban on movement. Of course, within that small space they provided all the luxury one can imagine. Can't say it was particularly enjoyable though.

The early flight was a very old small airline, much like a private aircraft, which took its own time, gliding through low altitudes to reach Bangalore. I will remember the sunshine, and how when the flight turned, the light from the windows bent and drifted away gracefully, like a dancer against the wall, almost in slow-motion. It was like music. The flight attendant sat right in front of me, my seat being 1A!

The first impression of Bangalore is that it is selectively nice and does have its own style. But what I like most about it are the roads with a canopy overhead keeping them perpetually in the shade. It looks lovely. One can ignore the mad rush of life below, if one looks up. Love the greenery here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.