Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

A Reminder of England

The temperature hit 91 degrees this afternoon. I think the maximum was reached at the time I walked to a doctor's appointment -- my annual physical. I must have looked hot when I arrived because the nurse fetched me a glass of iced water.

I like my new doctor. She is doing her residency in family practice at St Vincent's Hospital. She has something that all doctors should have -- a good bedside manner, as it used to be called, and a sense of humour.

I told her sometimes I get a bit down because of my circumstances but bounce back up again. My mood ebbs and flows. She said daily exercise is good for staving off depression because it releases endorphins. I didn't tell her I knew that already but I did suggest another good way to beat off the blues. "What's that?" she asked. "Putting $100 bills in my wallet," I replied. She laughed.

The appointment took a good chunk out of the afternoon and on returning there was the yard work to be done. So all in all not much chance to get out and about with the camera. But the backyard can prove a good source of inspiration.

These white flowers on a small tree remind me of elder flowers back in Britain, which eventually turn into small black berries that can be harvested and turned into wine.

I haven't a clue what these Florida flowers are called and would be grateful if anyone could tell me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.