Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Ept Vegetable!!!

Yesterday morning the BBC News ran a random story about cauliflower! Apparently it is no longer fashionable, people don't know how to cook it, and are put off it because they are told to "eat their greens" and it isn't actually green!

The criticism of the poor cauliflower culminated in a "vox pop" from an old chap on the street who called it an "inept vegetable", baffling viewers with this rather eccentric category error, which amused me in the same way as Douglas Adams's idea of "the Suez crisis popping out for a bun" always does!

The result the article (which also included the news reporter standing in the middle of a field of cauliflowers in Lincolnshire eating cauliflower curry at 7 in the morning) had on me was to give me a desperate craving for cauliflower, which is one of my favourites - I particularly like vegetables that "look like trees". So today I bought one.

In fact, the whole cauliflower business has done my health regime a favour. After nearly an hour of hard workout at the gym I bought a cauliflower, carrots to snack on, and some vegetable stir frys which I shall have for my lunch in the next couple of days instead of the usual rubbish I eat!

Hurrah for the cauliflower! It shall henceforth be known as the Ept Vegetable in these parts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.