My Angle

By myangle

Stormy

1/125th sec, f11, 200ISO, 28-105mm lens @ 105mm, Canon 350D

This blip came to me today. After going to mow the lawn at Jo's Dads place we went for a quick drive along the waterfront. There is a galeforce windwarning out and it wasn't hard to see why. I took a few images of little Moreton Bay style waves coming into shore and while I was doing it I saw this fellow heading out of the harbour a few hundred yards away. I jumped in my car and raced to the harbour entrance to intercept him. I am very pleased with the sharpness of the image even though it is blowing a gale and I was shooting at 1/125th sec. Somehow I managed to stay still for long enough to capure this. The scaled down image doesn't do it justice.

I was a bit surprised that a boat this size was going out. The gale has really whipped the sea up. The photo is a bit misleading because there is a harbour wall out of shot on the right protecting it from the worst of the wind. I have said before that the problem with Moreton Bay is not the size of the waves but rather the depth of the water. It is very easy for the wave troughs to expose the bottom. A boat this size could easily run aground and then get swamped by the next wave.

Moreton Bay is also returning to its normal colour, murky or brown as you can see in this shot. When I photographed the full moon a while ago the westerlys were blowing, which has the effect of clearing the water. Most of the year we have to put up with murk however because the prevailing wind is south easterly.

Just a quick note about yesterdays blip. There were lots of fierce cat comments. I think I gave the impression that Milo is a bit savage. She isn't. I have only ever accidentally been scratched by her while we were playing. Most of the time she would rather have her belly scratched. She really is harmless...really!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.