SOUTH BY MIDWEST

By southbymidwest

They're Heeeeeeeeeeeere...

Did anyone ever see that scene in Poltergeist with the tree branch that comes through the window? (shudders)

I was feeling a bit playful tonight and wanted to explore some long shutter snaps. We have a hemlock tree outside our bathroom that casts great shadows on the rice paper window screens. I don't have a tripod yet so it took me about 10 minutes to make a house-of-cards style platform out of two foot stools, the corner of the vanity, a pile of books and some towels to level the feet. Once I got it stable (enough) for repeat photos I started trying different f-stop/shutter/ISO combinations until I could get the noise minimized enough. I think it turned our really cool, although I have no idea where the green cast came from... I tried several different white balance settings and they all ended up with the same creepy green glow.

Notes to self: 1) Good thing my camera has a built in level. 2) Buy tripod.

SHOT NOTES: In addition to the above, I did some slight cropping and and boosted the shadows to further minimize noise and reflections of chrome fittings that were still slightly visible in the room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.