OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Rendall Hills

Looking toward Hoy from Ernie Tooin. No idea of the origin of that name, I must investgate. I walked along the ridge to Tooin of Rusht, then Mid Tooin. Lots of Tooin, no Froing. Got to Fibla Fiold and scanned over the Black Moss of Evrigert , Little Billia Fiold, the Bog of Surtan and around. I was looking for a white-tailed sea eagle that had been reported here. We don't have resident eagles of either species found on the mainland, golden and white-tailed sea eagle, on the islands but two or even three of the latter have turned up from somewhere.

I had no luck, but did see lots of other birds of prey and a cuckoo which called from a lone tree. I always like the sound, redolent of summer. So a very enjoyable walk.More photos here.
As for the white-tailed sea eagle; I prefer the Gaelic name: Iolaire suil na greine, 'eagle of the sunlit eye'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.