A time for everything

By turnx3

Bigleaf magnolia

I seem to be on a plant/tree theme this week. That wasn't my intention for today - I had taken a few shots at U.C. (University of Cincinnati) when I was down there this morning for a class, then I thought I would go for a shortish walk at Spring Grove Cemetery and Arboretum, before going home to cut the grass (before it rains again tomorrow!). However, while walking around Spring Grove I came across this magnificent tree, which I have since identified as a Bigleaf magnolia. The picture doesnt really do it justice, as there is nothing to give it scale. These flowers are huge, and so are the leaves. This species boasts the largest simple leaf and single flower of any native plant in North America. The flowers can be up to a foot across, and the leaves up to 30 inches long. The tree had quite a lot of flowers on it, some fully open like this, and others in bud. Of course, as is so often the case, I am kicking myself as I only had my point and shoot camera with me! If you want to see more photos of the tree, including its huge leaves, and some other shots from my walk, check out my Smugmug gallery

Best viewed in large

One year ago: IKEA

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.