Instography

By Instography

Thick buttered

So after posting yesterday it was off to the Carnegie Hall (in Dunfermline, not New York) to see a bit of Tiger Fest. Not the best name for a Festival - a bit too easily misheard as Tiger Feet, which calls all manner of musical horrors to mind. No, Rozi Plain, Withered Hand and King Cresote.

First time for me at the Carnegie Hall. It's a great wee venue seating about 500 people that has managed to avoid a period as a bingo hall and the sort of modernisation that has afflicted many venues. If I were an estate agent I'd say it retains many period features and I spent the time waiting for Rozi to start just looking around picking out potential winpig style photos. But it was sweltering and beer was not allowed in the auditorium. Not a good policy.

The music was good. Very stripped down. Rozi and a guitar, guitar, cello and drums from Withered Hand and KC accompanying himself on accordian / guitar, with a guy with an African drum for some of the set. Rozi Plain was so so (for me) but Mandy insisted on buying her CD just because I was buying Withered Hand's and she thought it would be rude to buy one and not the other. I'll listen to it later and give her another chance.

Got home about midnight but had to stay up until 2am, having made some dough before going out. It was too late to put it in the fridge so the choice was to scrap it or let it finish its proving and bake it. Anyway, this is it - the darker one - sitting next to some of Ewan's rubbish bread.

Took Ewan to his swimming lesson in Edinburgh this morning and then to the shops to find presents for Mandy's birthday on Tuesday, although I think we'll do the presents tomorrow seeing as Tuesday's a work day and I might need to work late. I've got a tender due in on Wednesday and, as ever, it's nowhere near finished yet. I'll keep hiding from the sun just now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.