Stevenson's miniature marvel

I was feeling a wee bit better today so when Chris and Aimee showed up the girls went down to the beach while Chris and I decided on a wee bike run across the bridge.

I don't think I could have faced a long stretch on the beach but with a long sleeved top on a wee jaunt on the bike was fine. The way over was great, although the new bike, having road gears, is a bit more of a slog for climbs than my old mountain bike the long gradual climb to the middle of the bridge was no problem. The run down the second half was fantastic though even if I'm still lacking the bottle to take the wee lumpy bits at the bridge joins at full pelt yet.

When we got across we had a wee ride down into North Queensferry itself and pedalled about to explore before stopping to have a wee snack. Out timing was good as the restoration team were working on this. There's not much more to go and the official opening is apparently on the 22nd of June with Princess Anne coming up to officially open it. IT was quite fascinating to see inside and impressive that it's nearly 200 years old and still rock solid.

After that we expolred a wee bit more before heading back over the bridge. This time the climb seemed like really hard work and I was cursing my lack of fitness until Chris pointed out that I'd been working the wrong way through my gears and making it a bit harder with each shift. D'oh! Guess I need a bit more time to get used to this new gear mechanism.

All in all it was a great wee trip and with about five milea all in it's another good warmup for starting the commute.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.