Jeannette's Journal

By jeannette1968

Stork with babies

Today I wanted to go to an orchidnursery/butterflyfarm.
I got me some great pictures and one of the butterflies certainly is very pretty as you can see here.
But unfortunately my lens kept condensing. So the pictures are all a bit hazy.
On our way home we came to a storkbreedingcenter in Spanga (Friesland). They got a large number of storks coming back every year for breeding. To sad to say that lots of the youngsters won't make it due to the cold. When they are growing bigger mom and dad can't protect them against rain and cold and the youngsters will easily catch a pneumonia, which is fatal to them.
That's way I choose this to be my picture of the day. Although I must admit the little walabi in mom's pouch was pretty adorable too.
Several of them ran around in the same area as the storks! Even though they are not indigenous in the Netherlands, they're seem to have a great time here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.