Hop Barn

By hopbarn

All that glitters...

I was driving home this evening and Great Witley Court caught my eye as the sun was glinting off the golden cupola. I managed to find somewhere to park and luckily had my little camera with me.
It's a lovely place to visit and the fountains are spectacular when they are running.

Just next door is Great Witley Church which is free to visit. I used to steward here a few years ago. I was privileged to witness a particularly touching concert one year on 11th of 11th at 11am, because 3 ex servicemen came in - they asked if they could play the organ (we were encouraged to allow organists to play as it's good for the organ) - I said yes and there followed the most beautiful organ playing I can ever remember. I don't know what he played sadly (I'm a bit useless at remembering that sort of detail) but I shall never forget how touched I was by being there at the right time.

I still get to some concerts held here, especially as my god daughter goes to school nearby and some of their concerts are held in this church.

Other pictures I took today, but I think I made the right choice
Evening sky over Clee Hill
and another view
freshly ploughed soil always interests me



I've had a really frustrating time trying to blip today - firstly because when I downloaded today's pictures my laptop said they were all erased. However they miraculously reappeared after much searching and swearing. Then I had it all loaded and ready and blipped, hit submit, and it had gone, so I've had to re-do it!! Twice! Because then the links to the other pictures I took today had disappeared! At least the date seems to have come up correctly this time - this is the camera I had dropped - or rather fell on when I fell off Lulu last week. I'm so tired now and still have to make up my bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.