Photo Bee 1 Journal

By photobee1

Piping Plover

This Piping Plover is part of a breeding pair, located on the beach loop at Allens Pond Mass Audubon Sanctuary. They are named Myer's Plovers after me. Normally the plovers nest at the very far end of the beach. I noticed this pair at the first place you can get on the main beach after the culvert. The pair were present multiple times in the same location. I discussed the findings with the Audubon staff and they observed them and saw that they were nesting and blocked that portion of the beach.

here is the plover on nest. picture was obtained by me crawling up on the rocks below the nest, so I would not disturb the plover. It is sitting on two eggs. Will continue to observe and hop for a good outcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.