As Days Pass Swiftly

By lilakae

Festival Time

On the first weekend after Labor Day every year for the past twenty-six years our town has a two day festival. The entire downtown area is shut down, which includes several streets. Traffice has been re-routed for two days already as items are set up in preparation.

The festival consists of a variety of choices such as a children's area with rides, crafts and a water area. Throughout the event are food vendors of all kinds, including the now famous funnel cakes (and here), giant turkey legs and roasted almonds. This also gives local, and not so local, atrisans the opportunity to show and sell their wares. You can find anything from jewelry, clothes, small and large yard furniture, candles, plants/flowers . . . the list goes on and on. I have a booth there in another category. One whole section is dedicated to non-profit and information booths. I will be giving out information on the Big Brother Big Sister Program. I am hoping to recruit new volunteers and new clients. Many of my current volunteers and board members will be working at the booth with me today. I like to keep our organization visible because it helps to bring in donations which are so important when you are running a non-profit group.

Another big draw to the festival is the wide variety of entertainment. Both nationally known and local groups perform. Last, but not least, the festival provides a venue of seeing friends and enjoying hanging out as there is no charge for the event.

I took this view from my office window, as I did this one. I wanted you to get an idea of how our town is transformed. Tomorrow I will be at my booth from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. It wears me out, but it is a lot of fun too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.