horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Reached the End

With a nod to Trev who blipped the Antony Gormley statue down at Leith some time ago - another 5 are planned along the Water of Leith up to the Modern Art Gallery, so expect blips aplenty with them. This shot won out over a wider, higher shot (from the top of the Ocean Terminal car park - it's just fun to ride up there, and I wrote an article on it once - as a kid I used to always try to get my dad to park at the very top of these things, and he hardly ever would) simply because of the bird on his head.

So. Reached the End. The end of what? Well simply work for a few days. Everything tidied up and moved on (much to the chagrin of one poisonous colleague who demanded to know who I thought I was because I was leaving 5 minutes early having spoken to my boss and got absolutely everything in order - she'd already spent the second half of the afternoon with her face tripping her after seeing part of her little kingdom of importance fall down). Tomorrow is weather dependant - if it's nice then a morning bike ride is in the offing, then meet Mel for lunch, then spend the afternoon tidying the house and getting packed to drive to Skye on Saturday.

We've gone so often now over the last 7 years that it's almost a second home - I know the place like the back of my hand (always thought that was a curious expression - honestly, without looking try and explain the back of your hand...) and always get excited at the prospect of the peace and quiet and wildlife and scenery and and and. And for once I'm going feeling relatively relaxed about the return and the first day back in the office. How times change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.