Delph Wynd Daily

By delphwynd

Sweet

As long as I've been wandering the streets around here, which is a fair amount of years, this character has been also. You can tell from the good tan he's already developing he's very much the outdoors type.

I'm not sure what age Kenny is but although his physical appearance is of a middle aged man his condition means he's still very much a child inside. He's such a friendly sort too which, for most of the time around here, is reciprocated as everyone knows him. But tonight, as Euan and I were trying to catch a photo of the Heron that's returned to the pond, he appeared from the nearby woods ahead of a noisy gang of teenagers. As he approached he seemed slightly agitated and so I asked him if he'd been getting pestered by the kids and he said "Aye, they're stinkin'". I took that to mean he'd been getting some verbal from them.

We had a wee chat and I asked him what he'd been doing in there anyway - Friday night around the pond and in the woods here is open bar for a good few underage drinkers and even I wouldn't venture in there. He said he uses it as a shortcut home. As I asked him where he was staying now he instinctively pulled out a nice tartan printed diary and showed me the address someone had written in there for him. I suggested that it would maybe be better for him to walk the slightly longer way home that stuck to the streets. He agreed and in the same breath asked what I was taking photos of. I showed him some of what I'd been taking and he was also happy for me to take a few photos of him too and show them to him on the camera. I said I would print a copy off and post it through his door for him. He liked the sound of that and as he munched through his packet of sweets (none of which were offered our way... cheers for that Kenny!) he chatted away and seemed to be less agitated as he suddenly bid us farewell and headed off down the street towards his house.

A sweet guy who just wants to be everybody's pal, but for the cider'd and lager'd up lot around on a Friday, too easy a target for some mean spirited piss taking.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.