Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Jazz Festival

Jacksonville is holding its annual Jazz Festival during the next three days. It is the one time in the year when the downtown area takes on the guise of a city, with people thronging the streets. Usually, downtown resembles a ghost town.

Basia appeared on tonight's bill at the Swinging' Stage located at Main and Adams. I first encountered Basia on TV back in England some 20 years ago and was immediately struck by her great vocal range and the clarity of her voice. So much so that I acquired her first two albums, Time and Tide, London Warsaw New York, on cassette tape -- remember those days?

I thought it would be nice to hear those songs performed live and I was not disappointed.

I was too far from the stage to photograph Basia in a meaningful way, so concentrated on the crowd to get a decent capture for today's post.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.