Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

The number 23

We watched the film the number 23 tonight. I had been keen to see it for a while as the trailier made it look really good. I suppose that is th epoint of trailers though.

It was a reasonably decent film if you're prepared to suspend disbelief enough to ignore some of the plot holes. I suppose the biggest hole in it was the inherent principle. without giving any of the plot away it is based on the 23 enigma whereby everything can be linked to the number 23. the thing is if you're prepared to make tenuos links in your arithmetic everything can be. According to my computer I started this sentence at 23.05 so we have a 23 there and 5 is just 2 + 3. Add to that the fact that todays date is 9/9/2007, if you take the two in the year away from the seven you get five, if you add that to the two nines in the date what do you get??? The aritmetic behind the principle is just that tenuous.

That said I don't want to put anyone off the film, it's a decent thriller which is fairly watchable if you're prepared to suspend disbelief and credulity and, lets face it, you have to do that with most Hollywood films.

What was particularly impressive is, as my friend Dave pointed out, Jim Carrey's transformation from a rubber faced comedy actor into someone who appears to be able to pull of serious roles with a bit of gravitas.

It was good to see Dave who was up from London for the weekend and was kind enough to buy us a takeaway for tea. He also gave me some more guitar pointers and was able to take my rough guess at th enotes for the riff in 'Cracking up' by the Jesus and Mary Chain and polish them off to make it sound right.

Anyway I'd better finish up before my clock reaches 23.23 so I can get ready for work tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.