Christian Pedersen

By ChrisP

Last day in Tibet

So we finally made it to Potala Palace. We actually met a few of our friends at the top from earlier in our trip. It's pretty familiar after seeing the other sights. It was still absolutely fantastic.

After that we had our last meal in Tibet. My Dad had a Nepalese curry. I had so shebaleb bread (which was absolutely amazing) and some yak stew. I loved the stew and the meat was so tender. I could eat it every day, but there were huge giant chunks of artery, chewy tubes, kinda gross, but worth it in the end. We grabbed our bags at this point emptied of the tonnes of snacks we brought predicting the cuisine would be terrible (as most people minus myself would say it was) an now full of trinkets, rosaries, flags, and an absolutely amazing thangka we made our way to the airport to start our journey home.

UPDATE:
I totally forgot to mention all this time, the Tibetans were some of the most lovely people I've ever met. Much like another Buddhist nation, Thailand, they are friendly and always jovial. They were also very camera shy and you're inclined to respect this, at least I was and I usually don't worry about taking photos of strangers. That plus the police and military all over (which you weren't allowed to photograph under any circumstances) it was hard to take any photos at all. I still managed to shoot a bunch of film, but I was really hoping to make my trip to Thailand seem like a joke. I did manage to shoot a ridiculous amount of instant film, which I kept little of. I found one way to bring out every Tibetans inner narcissist.

Fed 2 with 35mm Jupiter lens
Kodak Ektar 100

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.