RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

San Jose War Memorial

Until I got into the memorial blip idea, I didn't even know this particular memorial existed in San Jose. Although it's a place I've been near many times, this was the first time I visited. It is directly across the street from Adobe headquarters, where I've been to test software several times in the past.

I'm posting the online information about the memorial here:

"The Memorial was designed by the architectural firm Manhattan Projects in New York City, chosen through a competitive selection process conducted by the City of San Jose's Public Arts Committee. The Memorial was dedicated on November 11, 1997.

The Veterans Memorial consists of 76 flags on 30 ft. steel poles, representative of military personnel in formation. They also reflect the tiers of white headstones in a military cemetery. The white flags represent the anonymity of each who serves -- white is a sign of peace. The snapping fabric in the winds, contrasted with the serene canopy of white banners, reflects the military strength which preserves our peace.
The etched glass panels tell, through excerpts from letters home, the experiences of local veterans during the various wars. The figures in the panels cast shadows on the pavement in front of, or behind the panels, depending on the time of day."

War Memorial Link

My additional remarks:

This memorial covers wars since the time of of our civil war in the U.S. It also recognizes soldiers of various races and the contribution of women over the many wars that have been fought to protect our sovereignty. I like this memorial as it has the effect of ghostly images with quotes from mothers and fathers and descriptions of letters home. I wasn't able to capture the entire length of the memorial, but perhaps I'll go back in better light and shoot for a panoramic capture that I can upload to my folio.

I appreciate all the positive comments everyone left with regard to yesterday's flag post. This site is truly a gift to us all and connects us in ways most of us never imagined. I am proud to be a part of such a great group of people.

Today's Mercury News published a nice article on this memorial so I thought I'd include a link: SJMerc

View photo large.

Thank You!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.