Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Off-Peak

Last night my sister and brother-in-law spent a night out in town. I understand Mark Knopfler made a good show at the Royal Albert Hall. The return journey was a bit of a tri-athlon of tubes, buses and train, taking twice as long as normal. But this is the way of things when travelling on a bank holiday. Good training I'm sure as she'll be competing in a local triathlon, raising funds for our Primary School next month.

The station at Manningtree has however recently been the subject of unwelcome attention. It seems the lure of the ATM in the entrance hall was too tempting to ignore. So a tractor was used to break down the doors, leading to the entrance being boarded up. Fortunately, they seem to have abandoned most of their ill-gotten gains. Ha!

I'm pleased to see the pictured original canopy survives to this day. I hope you like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.