D77

By D77

A day in Arabia

What a day!

During the walk to the bus, I was beeped and stared at almost the whole way there. How wonderful! I must be fascinating to look at, which I should be very pleased about. I have even managed to attract another stalker. This one is female though, which makes a pleasant change.

Work was predictably predictable. When I arrived I endured the usual hilarity of this group of cleaning staff huddling together, pointing at me, and chanting 'WELCOME WELCOME MR DAVID WELCOME EGYPT!' which I NEVER tire of and really brightens up my morning. I had loads to do today, mainly involving student grades and whatnot. There were lots of important people to talk to which involved walking around the campus suffering the hair-dryer type heat. Very unpleasant. Just after lunch, a huge sandstorm hit Cairo. I've never experienced walking about in a sandstorm, but I had that pleasure today. It makes your eyes hurt. It makes your eyes hurt a lot.

My favourite lunchtime kiosk has closed due to not being able to pay the rent. The reason they can't pay the rent is because they're not making any profit. The reason they're not making any profit is because Allah didn't restock their supplies when they ran out. Well done clever people. 'See what happens when you pray for a fish!' I didn't say*. So, no healthy fruit juices and fruit salads anymore, and back to lining up in the filthy bacteria-ridden cafeteria for fried chicken and chips if I get hungry. YUM FUCKING YUM.

The President spoke to me to tell me that an AC will be fitted tomorrow. Usually, I take what he says with a large pinch of sodium chloride, but he said 'Inshallah!' so it must really be going to happen. I'd better take a spare pair of pants to work tomorrow, because if an AC does actually get installed, I'll likely pish the ones I have on at the time.

On the way home, I got stared and beeped at the entire journey. One young fellow even tried to talk to me, which given the mood I was in, wasn't really in his best interests.

The best part of the day? The knowledge that I get to do it all again tomorrow.

I can hardly wait.


*Give a man a fish, and you'll feed him for a day; give him a religion and he'll starve to death while praying for a fish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.