WfZ PHLOGS

By wellsforzoe

Another Success

Harisen drove the 2 hour (each way) journey to Makuzi to check out this well at the school, which hasn't worked for some time.
He notes:

John,

I went to Makuzi on sunday to see the broken borehole.I typed more about this and I wanted to send it as an attachment,but i can not attach it.

In short,I fixed it and water was coming out, but I noted few things; The rods are not straight, so when pumping, the rubber on the valve is rubing against the pipe forcing the rubber on the valve to move out/worn out quickly.

The plunger was old and scratched.

I will send you an attachment on this.

Harisen.

One of the tragedies of water in africa
When a pump goes wrong there is no one to fix it
So the idea is to spend 5 or 10000 euros on a new pump by a new Aid Agency, who will in turn leave no one to do the maintenance. What a waste of donor money, and how disheartening for the poor villagers.

Harisen is a genious on a pump he never touched before.
A few new parts and this school pump will be as good as new

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.