Hammocked...

This is my kind of lazy summer afternoon. Gently rocking back and forth in a hammock in the dappled shade at the back of the garden.

Even the distant sounds of lawnmowers and crying children sound softer like this.

Notes on the origin of the Hammock...
I went on a holiday to India about 14 years ago. It was a holiday on a budget and basically a flight and a bed which turned out to be just a flight. The place we managed to find to stay after someone put vs vs for the night was a stone hut with a drain and a iron framed bed with a sliver of a mattress. It wasn't a comfortable sleep for one person let alone two. The first wednesday we were there we went to the Anjuna beach market and I amongst the vendors selling beanie ciggies (a scraping of tobacco wrapped in a dried leaf, 30 pack for 2p) and tibetan singing bowls, I found a westerner selling hammocks. If I remember right, I paid about £10 for this double hammock and I slept brilliantly for the rest of the holiday. A huge comfy bed that folds away into a 20cm square bag. Perfect for travelling and to this day, one of my best investments to date.

I found some iffy photos from that holiday in the last attic scavenge which I plan to scan a archive here once I work out close enough dates for my satisfaction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.