Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Second Best

I've been renovating my best friend's trousers! His wife asked me if I would dye them in order to even out the colour and to make them last a bit longer looking presentable.

I dyed them, but the label, on which my friend's wife had written "second best" to signify that these were his second best trousers (as opposed to his "best" trousers, or his "gardening" trousers I suppose) had also dyed, being cotton. So I renovated the "second best" label too - embroidering the words on in 100% polyester thread, which will not take up dye.

I'm afraid it's a bit of a rough job - didn't supply myself with any guidelines, just needle and thread and freehand work before sewing the label back into the trousers.

Felt good to be sewing though. I come from a long line of needlewomen - starting with my mother and going back up the maternal line, there are at least 5 generations of professional needlewomen. It's definitely in my blood.

Love doing crafty things - sewing, knitting, building airfix models, and recently I've started doing a bit of origami.

Might start myself on some sort of new needlework project!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.