dailykeith

By dailykeith

The baker

I drive past this chap every time I have to work in Cheltenham. He stands on a balcony above Maison Chaplais - a gourmet delicatessen and bakery - in the upmarket Tivoli area of the town.

I'm not sure why the baker intrigues me. I think I'm certainly drawn to quirky ways of attracting the customer - such as the Stroud fish and chip shop that had half a shark bursting out of its outside wall.

But there might also be some link with my childhood.I'm sure figures like these were a little more common in the Sixties and Seventies. Maybe somewhere in my dim and distant past I saw a baker just like this one.

I'm not sure what the owl is doing there. I suppose the baker needs a bit of company standing there 24 hours a day.

Not too bad a day today... but it's nice to be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.