dailykeith

By dailykeith

U-turn

This is the second time in about three weeks that I've witnessed the down side of having a narrow boat.

Those boats might be narrow, they are also very long, which makes turning round rather difficult.

On the first occasion, it was painful to watch a family trying to turn their boat on the Gloucester-Sharpness Canal.

When built, it was the longest canal in the world, but the family still managed to crash their boat into both banks.

Today wasn't anywhere near as painful to watch. In fact, I think the couple involved knew what they were doing. But it looked very awkward trying to manoeuvre the vessel.

This was taken on the Avon close to Bristol city centre. It is actually quite a nice spot to moor a narrow boat, and I'd quite fancy having one down there myself... as long as I didn't ever have to turn it round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.