dailykeith

By dailykeith

Mural

I'm a big fan of public art. I love being challenged by some intriguing piece and having my spirits lifted.

When I was in Spain a couple of years ago, for example, it was a delight to enounter the work of the Polish sculptor Igor Mitoraj in central Seville (see a photo at http://bit.ly/b4PLvo). The main square was dotted with his fascinating work - it became a huge open-air gallery.

I have also enjoyed the use of the fourth plinth on London's Trafalgar Square as a stage for art. My first blip would have been the latest display - Nelson's ship in a bottle - if a colourful parade hadn't captured my attention instead.

But we are not necessarily that open to public art in this country. An
acquaintance of mine was vilified when his sculpture went on permanent display in a park not a million miles from where I live.

I'm glad to say that Bristol is much more liberal. Today's blip is of a lovely mural on the station at Stapleton Road - at Easton, just to the north of the city centre.

This is the work of local artist Bill Guilding and it features characters illustrating local and historical themes.

It always makes me feel a little bit better about the day as I head for the office.

By the way, it is difficult sometimes to get the timing right on the odd occasion I use a mobile phone as a camera - hence the guy halfway through putting on his rucksack!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.