dailykeith

By dailykeith

Going, going, gone

There have been signs hanging on this building for months heralding the arrival of the new 'Glassfields' development.

As a newcomer to Bristol, I assumed that the brown glass-fronted building was the aforesaid Glassfields already built, and that they had forgotten to take the signs down. After all, it is made of glass... and a bit of concrete and a few wires, of course.

I had to spend a couple of weeks away from the city and when I came back... crikey! Where's the middle gone?! I guess I was wrong, then!

You won't be surprised to hear that the old brown glass thing is making way for... a new glass thing, only a bit bigger and built around a 'new, landscaped city square'.

It is billed as the 'gateway to Bristol's Temple quarter' and is 'Bristol's most exciting mixed use environment' blah blah blah.

I guess the bulldozers will be back in 25 years' time.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.