Moments

By togrrrl

Surfing Geese

I was a little stir crazy after a second day of housework and a mid-afternoon nap. I got in the car with vague longings to do something, anything and eventually found myself down at Leslie Street Spit, one of my favourite haunts, checking on the breeding birds and looking for photo opportunities.

The lake had unusually big waves - they actually made sound when they broke and I imagined I was at the ocean. It was strange to see these Canada Geese paddling in them, putting their heads down into the oncoming waves just like surfers and ducking out the other side.

The migration is over and all of the birds are breeding. Some of the early birds like robins and cardinals are on their second brood. I was happy to find many birds: gorgeous orange Baltimore Orioles, Eastern Kingbirds, grackles, red-winged blackbirds, song sparrows, goldfinches, Least and Willow flycatchers, catbirds and even a singing Orchard Oriole, a bird that's slowly nesting farther and farther north.

The final gift for the day was a close up view of Cedar Waxwings with their brilliant yellow tail tips feeding in the trees on the side of the path.

Monday is looming...I hope I got enough nature to last me the week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.