Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Through the porthole [Assignment 12 the 3rd]

Busy, busy, busy. The print job is well in hand, and the client is fully aware that someone else is organised to handle any last-minute changes if any are needed while I'm away. Only three pages left to do, so I'm on schedule to hand things over to the printer tomorrow afternoon and then sort out the last-minute bits and pieces of holiday preparation that are still hanging over me before our 8.00 am flight on Saturday.

One thing which bothered me during the course of the day has been my ridiculously expensive new glasses. The frames just didn't feel right from the day I got them, and I'd already paid a return visit to the optician to have adjustments made. They really got to the annoyance stage today, so badly so that I interrupted my work and drove back across the city to get the optician to try again. The problem is that all seems well when he fiddles with the side bars and the nose pads, but it's only after hours or days that I can judge how effective the adjustments have been. Let's hope he's got it right this time.

I dropped in to the Bodega bar in Dún Laoghaire for coffee and a comfort break afterwards and took advantage of being there to take this shot of a porthole-style opening I'd noticed the last time I was in the place. The evening light looked promising in reality and even more so on the LCD screen, so I put the camera on the counter-top, did a bit of spot metering for the outside view and used the 2-second delay to guard against shake. So this is take 3 on Assignment 12.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.