Pixel Art

By pixelart

One day, I will be there too ..

Recently a colleague of mine quit the organization. He had accompanied me on my trek to Mt. Everest Base Camp last year. While leaving, he gifted me this DVD (Everest - IMAX Version) and wished me to summit Mt. Everest one day! It was a touching moment, really!

Rewinding the life back by 18 months, this particular colleague was a very technical-work only life kind of person. During one of those casual talks with him, I mentioned about my plans to trek to the base camp of Mt. Everest. Though he did not show any interest towards that initially, a few videos that he watched later generated interest in him. Immediately he wanted to join my expedition. Though he had never trekked in his lifetime before, he just wanted to do it. I prepared his training schedules for the next four months and within no time he was all set to trek to the very base of the roof of the world.

Believe it or not he did it successfully! Though this trek was a bit physically taxing for him. The story did not end there. This trip had a great effect on him. I left him alone most of the times during the trek so that he can talk to those mountains, experience the purest form of nature and rediscover himself in that environment. Trust me, the moment he came back to the city, he registered himself to a mountaineering course and wanted to go back to Himalayas again!

Now, he called it quits to the technical work he was doing and moved ahead to pursue his post grads. He wants to live close to the nature after that. I am so happy for him. The mountains and nature as a whole certainly had an impact on him. He discovered a new "self" in himself!

While gifting this DVD, he said, I had a major role in his 'self-discovery' process and thanked me for that! :) Now dude, nothing beats this satisfaction :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.