Shutter Trolle

By ShutterTrolle

Great Blue Heron profile

I paid a visit to the Great Blue Heron nest at Goodacre Lake in Beacon Hill Park this afternoon. Earlier this spring I read that some herons had returned to their nest at the lake and I wanted to see if there were any tiny Great Blue Herons swimming around. I saw 6 Great Blue Herons; all were large, so I don't know which of them were the kids. Some of the herons stayed in the trees, away from people, while others were on the shore and didn't seem to mind people coming up and taking their pictures.
There was one Heron that appeared to be on guard duty - he (I am guessing) would fly part way around the lake and stand on one spot looking around. He would then fly to another spot, stand in the bushes, look around, then move on to another spot. He was a little more skittish than the one standing on the shore, though I managed to capture him as he was standing guard in the bushes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.