Gifts of Grace

By grace

Gentle rain

Or the meaning of life. Soundtrack.

Gentle rain has been falling all day. I've had a lovely time sleeping late, a little writing, restoring a modicum of order to the house, domesticity and admin, no need to go out at all. I may even sleep early tonight. Such luxury.

I'd blipped this peony bud (the first) from the bedroom window in the morning and was happy enough with the fuzzy results. The warm rain showed no sign of abating by evening so I went out with my brolly and camera to see what the drips were up to. And became captivated by the lushness of everything. Sun is forecast here tomorrow and the garden is just going to go whoosh and burst into colour. SUCH ripeness.

My knees were soggy, I kept catching the brolly handle in the frame and the midgies were biting when I had the epiphany - like 'Oh that's ......' It was like one of those addled moments from my mis-spent youth when the meaning of life became crystal clear but a moment later you couldn't, for the life of you, remember what it was. Hence the soundtrack. Tonight it was to do with a string of raindrops glistening just so, a perfect curve and just as I focussed in on them one more drop fell from the sky and tipped them over the edge. I laughed and laughed 'a moment's necklace then gone forever' to paraphrase somebody. Life is good, blip is wonderful, and it happened again folks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.