ALLIUM SCHOENPRASUM

Doesn't it just crack you up when some gardening know it all waxes lyrical in latin -reciting every plant name in vowels and consonants that are seemingly unrepeatable?

Given it's not my first language and wasn't taught it at school I always find myself at somewhat of a verbal disadvantage when green fingered pedagogues belch forth utterances that might as well be in Swahili

Actually I love the syntax of latin and wish I'd embraced it years ago ...

Oh well, so much to learn!

This is in fact the flower of the humble Chive - indigenous to both N. America and Europe - and one of my late Granny's favoured fresh garnishes to summer salads. The distinct aroma of chopped chives in a bowl of lettuce, tomatoes and olives reminds me immediately of my Grandparents Scottish farmhouse kitchen, and long school holidays!

Here's a song Swimming Song Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.