1..2...3..

By jeanine

happy birthday, dad!

Today is my dad's birthday, so while he's out of the house, I've baked him a birthday cake. The recipe calls it the "best ever chocolate fudge cake", but essentially it's a chocolate layered pudding cake frosted with chocolate whipped topping, strawberries, and chopped walnuts.

I found the directions online, so here's a link to the original recipe, and below I have italicized the changes that I made in the ingredients for my cake:


Ingredients:

1 pkg. (2-layer size) chocolate cake mix
1 pkg. (4-serving size) Jell-O Fat-free Chocolate Instant Pudding*
4 eggs
1 cup low-fat sour cream
1/2 cup oil (I used something between 1/2 and 1/3 cup)
1/2 cup water
1 pkg. (8 squares) Baker's Semi-Sweet Chocolate, divided
3 cups thawed Cool Whip Light Whipped Topping
fresh strawberries, halved
1 tbsp chopped walnuts


*I'm about 99% certain that this recipe uses the powdered mix, not the ready-made pudding cups..if I'm wrong you'll all be the first to know ;)


TIPS:

- Freeze cake layers for about 15-20 minutes to prevent the corners from crumbling as you frost the cakes
- Chop the bakers chocolate before adding it to the cake mix and before melting it down in the frosting mixture.. if the Cool Whip/bakers chocolate frosting begins to harden while you're preparing it, heat it in the microwave for an additional 20 seconds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.