Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

I can tell that we are gonna be friends

I could not have posed the boys better. Unpromoted, Reuben and Callum leaned over the shiny green climbing bar that separated them and, with Reuben's big juicy lips only a match for Callum's in scale, the boys lifted my heart in their sweet embrace. A few more.. The Reuben in CHARGE b/w makes me smile; one cool kid.

Two football matches today and a TV connection for the first time in 4 years (ie during the last World Cup). Last night I was able to watch CNN and some BBC America and I realise now why I don't have TV: I'd never get anything done in the evenings.

Up til 130am working on photos and up for the 7am opening match. I tried to teach the boys the offside rule but of course I'm a girl and that makes it really tough for me to understand in the first place. I'm feeling that buzz as our game approaches. The boys have their shirts and we're ready to roll.

The ESPN coverage was so poor during the first match that I switched to Alan Green's BBC voice on the radio, unsyncronised with the TV coverage. Good to hear Ally McCoist's voice on ESPN for the second match, just at the time I had to suffer the BBC's "due to right's restrictions in your area...."

Both boys napped in the afternoon. When you're on holiday, your body can finally say, It's time to relax. Perhaps Reuben feels it too as two naps in one week is unheard of during the last 18 months. And so the play area called much later than usual, but just before speech therapy at home. I long to explore what's left of the Barona Wetlands in LA which surround the park. My heart feels sad at what's been lost ecologically to urbanisation as an ardent environmentalist, but I'll never stop looking for natural beauty in even the most urban of environments.

Music question: I've made a lot of recordings for the boys, singing songs and stuff on GarageBand. No idea how I'd upload them but one is me singing this favoured song of mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.