Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

School boy with play yard bokeh ;-)

Much lovelier large and a couple more.

I have the pleasure for just a couple of introductory days to be sitting out in the play yard with the toddler class, a privilege awarded to new families when they join the UCLA programme so they can observe their kids first hand and help them adjust to the new environment. Well, Callum has indeed grown up here watching his brother through the one way window, but who am I to resist the opportunity to be outside with the kids. This shot, whilst the toddlers found their places on the Magic School Bus to take them back inside.

"I want juice please Mama". I can only credit Callum's beautiful language development to that access given to him by sign. It's thrilling to hear and I know the tremendous help he'll unwittingly be giving Reuben whilst he's racing through the milestones of development.

What sweet and mild manners he has learnt, both signing and saying "please" and "thank you" at every opportunity. Is there nothing lovelier to hear? I know it's customary to ask in British English "Please may I have...", and I love to keep those pleasantries, idiosyncrasies of our language alive too.

And so, my role model peer Callum sat down to the lunch table with the rest of the kids, started having a tantrum over not wanting to eat and then, like a Mexican wave, the cries spread through to the other kids. Well done, Callum. Ah well, can't have everything.

Kodak Easyshare announces their baby competition finalists.. Good to study and constructively criticize, see the strong themes that are running in photographic portraiture and can't help but wish some Blippers had submitted their art on there too. Let me know your thoughts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.