dailykeith

By dailykeith

Up for the Cup

Well, I was going to avoid it, but...

The truth is, I'm interested in the social impact of the World Cup, so I couldn't avoid putting down my thoughts.

'Err... yeah,' I hear you say!

Put it this way - my daughter, Sally, had next to no interest in football until this week. I'm sure she'll admit to that.

But now not only is she looking forward to tonight's big match, but she has even bought her very own England shirt and is proudly wearing it at this very moment.

I'm just interested in whatever it is that flicks that sporting switch.

If I find the answer, I am going to use it to ensure that once the World Cup is over, the switch stays flicked and she follows family tradition by buying a Manchester City shirt - showing a similar amount of interest in them.

But I have a sneaking suspicion there will be a swift return to her boyfriend, car and endless texting to her mates. Sorry Sally!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.