A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Hairy Experience

There are a few more gray hairs on my head today. Our area got hit with severe storms around 9:45 this morning while we were setup to sell Big Fat Soap at the farmers market. Everyone around me was watching the radar and the bright red area was headed our way, but some were saying it would veer north and miss us, while others said it would be hours still. Then someone said 60 mile per hour winds were reported one town west of us so many of us started packing up. Five minutes later it hit with unbelievable force. I'm still shaking and I've been home for hours now. Most of the vendor tents went flying over the roof of the municipal building. Mine flew over the top of my car and got hung up on a post, otherwise it would have taken flight over the roof top as well. There was screaming and running and product flying all over the parking lot. It was a rather unpleasant experience...hair raising, in fact.

The only good news is that my Taxman had gone to run an errand and then was back at the farmers market about five minutes before the storm hit. If it wasn't for him being there I would have certainly lost more product and would have been a blubbering baby. We were all completely drenched. I don't think I've ever been more soaked. He is my hero today.

Now I'm going to try to put on my smiley face and go have dinner downtown with our grandbaby, Morgan's, parents and other grandparents from St. Louis. Tomorrow is her baptism, so it's a big weekend in Chicago.

PS: My $200 farmers market tent is ruined. We left it in a heap behind the municipal building for the garbage collectors to pick up next week. Now I have to find another one before next Saturday and to be honest, I'm afraid to get back up on that horse and do it again. I feel like my business is in a heap along with my tent. I know it isn't so, but that's how it feels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.