change ends

A little more wandering and a little more re-orientation of which end of some streets feels the safest in the sense of being closest to home. Lugging the wingpiglet about helps with this as it turned what would usually have been a fairly random wander into a wander in which every turn was carefully considered so that at all times I was aware of the shortest and most direct route back home in case he suddenly woke and started bleating for milks. Being strapped in and walked about still seems to have the desired effect of getting him to quieten down when all other available techniques of addressing his few needs seem to not work although on a second wander just after midnight a few stray peeps escaped once outside the door before he settled, hopefully not significant enough to wake anybody in any nearby houses. How different it would have been in the winter when popping out for a quick wander would entail having to wrap him in several layers and finding some sort of means of keeping the rain off his head rather than just sticking on one of his few pairs of socks over the top of his sleepsuit and zipping my hoody up around the whole arrangement. Winter outings will probably also be impeded by my lack of a large, warm coat; I tried one once but it was stolen in March 2006 and never replaced. If it's really raining quite hard I have a couple of bicycling-anoraks but they only get worn when I'm certain that I wouldn't get more wetted by the rain than I would through sweating whilst wearing the allegedly breathable items. Both fit me fairly snugly and neither would go anywhere near stretching all the way round an attached infant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.