Peeking out of the shell

By ammonyte

Riding With Lions

I've only been on my bicycle twice this year, after I broke my leg at the end of last year. On Friday evening as I put my car in it's garage I noticed my neighbour wheeling a rather tasty bike into his. We fell into conversation and it turned out that he was organizing a charity ride for today, to raise money for charities supported by Burnham Lions Club, and somehow I found myself signing up for the longest option, 20 miles.

Bit nervous, given how few serious cardio-vascular workouts I've had recently, and it's an area with a few nasty (but thankfully short) hills. Pedaled round at a nice pace in a gang of four, it was well-signed and well-marshalled (they've been doing it for 20 years) and got given a bottle of water, choccy bar and this medal.

If you'd like to contribute you can sponsor me at the Purecharity website. Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.