RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

"Secrets"

Truly, a strange and tough day. I started out by cutting my lower lip shaving. Then work was a bit of a challenge, even for a Monday. Kept dropping and forgetting things - thankfully I didn't lock myself out of the office.

As planned, I had to make a trip to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) office in San Jose at lunchtime to make the last of two really LARGE payments from back taxes. The building that houses the IRS in San Jose has gold color reflective windows, (strange level of opulence even for the IRS). You'd think it would be drab gray or something a little more subtle...

Outside the main doors to the building is this sculpture. In the right light it appears to be solid gold. I'm sure it's not, but after my two payments they could probably afford gold plating. It's also a bit risque for the IRS (which prides itself on mediocrity and bureaucratic simplicity). Although the warnings about "No Cameras" were everywhere, I decided it was blip time. The only description about this sculpture is a brass plaque with the title "Secrets" and "1986 Tom Bennettt". I'm sure Bennett is the creator, but why "Secrets" outside the IRS office? Hmmmm.

Please smile with me at the irony of this gold colored stature 3 meters from the entrance to a huge line of disgruntled people waiting hours for a number to be called by a computer voice. May the irony of life continue to provide us humor and an education no matter how irrelevant. It's time for a drink!

Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.