Line up

A strange old day today.

Got up and went walkies with the red boy in the dark and rain. Met another nice neighbour who invited C over for a play with her Labrador on Tuesday afternoons so that he isn't cooped up in the house all day and doesn't bark and annoy the (nasty) neighbours. I thought that was kind of her.

Felt pretty grotty again. Headache, snot, cough, shivers, etc.

Then I got hot and almost feverish. I ploughed on, teaching quite well considering. I enjoyed my classes, we got lots done and they had smiles on their faces whilst doing it. Result.

I missed morning tea and then lunch, racing around getting things ready for the 'House Choir' event. Lots of noisy and excited students. Laughter, smiles, camaraderie.

We won! Second year in a row, so we were pretty chuffed about that.

Mr P gave us teachers who helped out a bunch of flowers each. We felt pretty special. It's nice to have your efforts recognised. I think I'll write him a card.

Then to a 'Curriculum Leaders' meeting which was surprisingly short.

Home before dark to walk the dog. He was pleased to not have to have a second walk of the day in the dark. So was I.

Home again to feed the boys and light the fire. It lit first time!

Spoke to some of my neighbours who thanked me for sorting out the dog.

'Sometimes he barks all day', said they.

'That's not possible, say I, he's not here all day'.

'Oh', they said, 'well, from when you leave at about 1 o'clock 'til when you get back'.

'Really?' I asked. 'That's odd. I'm not at home at one, let alone leaving at one. I have also asked some people who get home around 3.30 pm and they said they don't hear him.'

'Oh', they said, 'well, sometimes he barks a lot. I just turn my hearing aid off so I kind of tune out'.

Ah ha! Casing point.

They're old. I didn't have the heart to point out that they were hardly the most reliable of witnesses, since I had to shout to make myself heard.

The investigation continues.

Big glass of red wine, tortillas and beef casserole, marking, report checking and comments and then typing up a report for my department after tonight's meeting. I'm hoping for an early night.

We'll see.

Useless fact of the day: Two years ago was my 300th blip. My have times have changed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.