Dai Urnal-Instants

By DaiUrnal

Bath's mane tourist attraction

Forget urban foxes - Bath's being invaded by lions; we're all more conscious now of the 'pride in our city'.

You see them in the most unlikely places. I tracked this one to his sunning rock under the glass ceiling at the centre of the Guildhall Market.

The signs beneath his magnificent belly read 'Please do not touch or ride the king' and 'King of the Rock 'n' Roll Jungle'.

The artist is Eric Anderson. His creation is a truly magnificent beast. I guess he found it all-consuming.

So life in Bath is now a little more exciting and dangerous; you have to keep your eyes wide open as you walk through the city.

Especially as the dozen or so I have spotted so far have all been proud but lazy males; I understand it's the lionesses you have to watch out for.

But as the old joke has it: I don't have to run faster than the lion.

I just have to run faster than you...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.