dailykeith

By dailykeith

Neptune

This is an old friend from Cheltenham - the Neptune fountain.

I was walking past him first thing this morning and saw how the sun shone through the water droplets. So I went back in my lunch break and told him I would introduce him to my Blipfoto chums!

The fountain, featuring the Roman god of the sea, dates back to 1893 and it is believed it was fashioned on Rome's Trevi Fountain.

The Trevi fountain?! Sorry, I have to pause there because Cheltenham does sometimes have delusions of grandeur.

The truth is, despite its posh Promenade and its Regency houses and public buildings, there is a much darker side to the town that visitors probably know nothing about.

But maybe that's for another blip.

I'd certainly rather be where Neptune is - looking out over one of the nicest streets in the west of England.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.